The Story of Samo-Chapter One, Part Four

January 1, 2009 at 6:54 pm (Story)

Kia brushed his dusty, light brown hair behind his ear. He stepped toward Samo, who was still holding the wrench raised to his head, and said, “Samo, put down the wrench. Please, you’re scaring me.”

With a thud, Samo dropped the wrench on the table. Without a word, he moved to climb back into his motorized wagon. He looked down at Kia, whose head was now at about the level of his boot, and said, “Do you want to go for a ride? I think I got it fixed. It doesn’t explode anymore.”

“Um, I’m not sure if I want to step in that thing again. Remember last time?”

“Kia,” Samo answered, resting his elbow on his knee. “I told you. I doesn’t explode anymore. I fixed that problem.”

“Well, I don’t kno-hey, watch it!” Kia tried to pull his arm back as Samo yanked on it to get him into the wagon. “I told you I don’t want to-stop that!”

Samo reached down and put his hand underneath his friend’s armpit and pulled him up. After pushing him over his lap to the seat on his right, Samo set his hand on Kia’s shoulder roughly and started cranking the machine on again. When he got it started, he gave a grin and said, “I told you it doesn’t explode anymore.”

“Hey, bud, I’m not really sure we should go right now.” Kia looked around nervously. Samo knew he hated riding in his contraptions. He just wasn’t sure why. “You know, I did come to talk to you about something.”

“So talk,” Samo said bruskly as he started out the garage.

“Yeah, but we need to be in the garage to talk about it.” Kia shouted, which forced his voice full octave above normal. When Samo stopped the wagon and turned it off, Kia quickly jumped off and back a few yards away.

Samo leaning forward, growled with bared teeth. His voice gravelly and soft, he said, “Kiara’s here, isn’t she?”

Previous Page | Next Page

Permalink Leave a Comment