The Story of Samo-Chapter One, Part Six

January 5, 2009 at 3:48 pm (Story)

Well, I made it through the first week with no missed entries. Here’s week two of Samo’s story in “Inventor’s War.” The entries will be getting slightly longer from here on in.

Samo looked at the brown-paper package, wrapped in string no less, and said, “What’s this, a peace offering?”

Nodding, Kiara said, “I wanted to apologize for messing up-”

“Breaking.” Samo turned from her. He raised a finger in the air and said, “Breaking, ruining, destroying. These are better words.”

Kiara choked back a sob. “I’m sorry for destroying your engine.”

“Why did you come back?” He set his hands on the workbench and sighed. “Kia said I scared you so much that you didn’t want to ever see my face again. To tell the truth-” He turned toward her and said, “I’m really surprised to see you here.” Kiara started to answer, but started sobbing. He continued, “I had to send the metal to the foundry so they could melt it down. Not only did you ruin three months of my work, you endangered all of our lives just because you didn’t listen when I told you not to touch anything.”

Sobbing, Kiara set the package on the workbench and started for the door. Samo put his hand up and took her by the arm. “I didn’t tell you to leave,” he said. “If you really are sorry about what you did, I won’t bring it up again, but I had to tell you why I’m mad at you. Why are you crying?”

“Why?” she shouted. “Why? You threatened me with a wrench! You nearly killed Kia this morning because you just heard him! You’ve even been accused of killing your own master! Why shouldn’t I cry?”

Samo tightened his grip on her arm, not enough to hurt her, but still tightened it. Kia stepped up and said, “Let her go.”

“No,” Samo said, staring at Kiara. “I’m going to hold her here until she hears me out. I’m sorry you two are afraid of me. I understand that people who don’t really know me might be scared, but I wouldn’t hurt you. You should know that. If I wanted to threaten you with that wrench, I would have killed you on the spot. Also, you should know that I did not kill Gianan.”

Kiara pulled at him, futilely trying to free herself. Sarcastically, she said, “Oh? And why should I know that?”

“He was poisoned.” As he stared into her eyes, he said, “I would never poison someone. If I wanted to kill someone, I’d bash their head in.” As Kiara yelped and tried to pull away from him, he continued, “Just like I’ll do to the person who killed him when I find him.”

Previous Page | Next Page

Permalink Leave a Comment